Destiny 2 Patch Notes Update: All New Features

Destiny 2

Destiny 2 is an engaging online first-person shooter developed by Bungie that originally launched in 2017 as a paid product for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Windows platforms. This later evolved into New Light’s free-to-play model on October 1, 2019, with the game’s access expanding to Stadia before appearing on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X/S in December 2020. Bungie took over publishing rights and Activision launched on December 31, 2018. The game is a sequel to the original Destiny and its expansion packs.

In the field of “mythical science fiction”, “Destiny 2” presents a multiplayer “shared world” environment that incorporates role-playing game elements. Gameplay is divided into player versus environment (PvE) and player versus player (PvP) modes, and features not only story-driven missions, but also three-player “strouts,” complex dungeons, and six-player raids.

The expansion of exploration is evident in the open-world patrol mode and diverse activities in each location. NPCs play a more integral role, providing different interactions than the original social space. PvP introduces an objective-driven mode as well as a traditional deathmatch setting.

Players take on the role of the Guardians, defenders of humanity with the power of light, who are faced with the challenge of protecting the last safe city on Earth from a variety of alien enemies and looming dark forces. Expansion packs further fleshed out the narrative and gameplay, with smaller expansion packs being released in the first year, such as Curse of Osiris and Warmind.

The following year brought Forsaken, a major expansion that reshaped the gameplay. Shadowkeep is in its third year of launch, with subsequent releases adopting a standalone format that makes ownership of previous premium content unnecessary. “Destiny 2: New Light” launched at the same time provides a free base game and initial expansion pack. Plus, seasonal passes provide access to content for each season. While the core Destiny 2 experience is free, supplemental content requires purchase.

Year four marks a critical transition, as much of the game’s content from the previous three years has been moved to the Destiny content library. This coincides with the fifth expansion, Beyond Light, which introduces the mysterious power of darkness. Bungie’s vision includes Witch Queen in early 2022 and Lightfall in early 2023, marking a new era in the Destiny saga. The upcoming final chapter, “Final Form,” will bring an end to the “Saga of Light and Darkness” and pave the way for a new era of storytelling.

Destiny 2 launched to laudable reviews, celebrating improvements in storytelling, gameplay mechanics, visuals, exploration, multiplayer dynamics, and public events. Feedback on the weapon reclassification, Leviathan raids, and new modes has been mixed. The game has received nominations and wins at prestigious events such as the 2017 Game Awards and the Game Critics Awards.

Destiny 2 Patch Notes Update

Here are all the changes to look forward to in Destiny 2 patch



  • Rolling back spawn point changes in Control and Conflict to their pre-Season 21 state.


  • Fixed an issue where players joining another player could block progress during Mission: Call.

  • Fixed an issue where the Weekly Challenge completion screen message was missing text.

  • Fixed an issue where the Ascension VIII card’s burn rate increased too quickly.

Gameplay and investing


  • Fixed an issue where the Glowing Void shader and Twisted Axis shader would not be applied correctly to some armor.

  • Fixed an issue where Titans using the Pyrogale Guantlet could activate a one-shot Burning Hammer Super and then switch to Synthoceps to increase their damage input.

  • Fixed an issue where the Photon Cloak model was partially offset.


  • Fixed an issue where using a sequence of actions via loadout could cause weapon models, cosmetics, and other properties to be incorrectly mixed and applied to the weapon.

  • As a result, loadout has been re-enabled, but the weapon will not be taken from the player’s vault. This issue will be addressed in a future fix.

  • Fixed an issue where the Origin Perk Specialization II Artifact perk would not properly overcharge the Eremite Fusion Rifle and Brya’s Love Scout Rifle in Season 22.


  • Fixed an issue where the Unstoppable Capture Phalanx could not take damage at the critical hit point.

Bounties and Pursuits

  • Fixed an issue where Strand related bounties were only displayed if Strand was a gear subclass.


  • Fixed an issue where certain exotics in Monument of the Lost Light required the wrong rights.

  • Fixed an issue with the vendor UI being displayed during conversations with Ikora.


Destiny 2 gameplay

Destiny 2 retains the core essence of its predecessor, seamlessly blending first-person shooter mechanics with role-playing and massively multiplayer online game (MMO) elements. The game introduces an improved matchmaking system called “Guide Game” that allows players to find tribes that need more members for raids, optimizing cooperative gameplay. Similar to the original game, “Destiny 2” is divided into player versus environment (PvE) and player versus player (PvP) modes, offering a variety of activities to participate in.

Character progression and careers remain the focus, just like they were in the original Destiny. Players (known as Guardians) enhance their characters by accumulating experience points (EXP), thereby increasing their levels and thus their combat statistics.

With the expansion of Shadow Fortress, the upgrade system has been transformed into a “season pass” method, where players use experience to increase their levels and obtain various rewards, eventually reaching level 100. Non-player characters (NPCs) are assigned tasks that advance the main storyline while generating valuable items and experience points.

Destiny 2 retains the three character classes from the original game: Warlock, Hunter, and Titan. Each class has unique upgrades, perks, special abilities, and three subclasses, allowing players to customize their play style. Next up is the choice of species – human, awakened, or alien – and while it’s cosmetic, it doesn’t affect gameplay. Players can create multiple characters, each representing a different class.

The Hunter inherits the Gunslinger and Nightcrawler subclasses from the original game, introducing a new Arcstrider subclass focused on electrified staff combat. Warlock continues to have subclasses such as Voidwalker and Stormcaller, now joined by the Dawnblade subclass, whose fiery super is called Dawn. Titans, on the other hand, retain the Striker and Sunbreaker subclasses, while welcoming the new Sentinel subclass, capable of summoning shields for defense and offense.

Beyond Light, a key expansion, introduces a fourth subclass to each main class, called Stasis – a power that comes from darkness, in contrast to the light-based subclasses. Stasis focuses on controlling and freezing enemies.

This subclass utilizes modularity in customization, allowing players to customize grenade, melee, and protective abilities through aspects. Future Dark Forces are expected to follow a similar modular approach. Growth in the game is marked by the character’s power level, which is determined by the average power level of equipment, enhancing damage output and defense. The progression system includes soft and hard power levels that are earned through various activities such as raids and peak gear events.

Destiny 2 trailer

Disclaimer: The above information is for general information purposes only. All information on this website is provided in good faith, but we make no representations or warranties, express or implied, as to the accuracy, adequacy, validity, reliability, availability or completeness of any information on this website.

Leave a Comment